NDSL 2023:
Nonlinear Dynamics in Semiconductor Lasers

July 3–5, 2023
Weierstrass Institute Berlin

Thanks a lot for your participation! Here is our conference picture.

Scientific Scope

The aim of the workshop is to bring together applied mathematicians and scientists from photonics and semiconductor physics and to give them the opportunity to exchange experience in the field of nonlinear phenomena in optoelectronic devices. The workshop will focus on, but not be limited to, all types of semiconductor lasers. See below for a list of topics.

Please take a look on the previous workshop's websites (e.g., NDSL 2018, NDSL 2021) for more information about scientific topics, program, abstracts etc.

Book of abstracts

Please find our book of abstracts here


The program is available here.


Topics covered by the workshop include, but are not limited to:

  • AM, FM and self mode-locking in lasers
  • Bifurcation theory, analytical and numerical methods in optoelectronics
  • Coupled laser systems
  • Experimental aspects of optoelectronic and photonic device dynamics
  • Frequency combs
  • Lasers with delayed feedback
  • Machine learning with photonic devices
  • Model reduction using dynamical systems theory
  • Nonlinear and stochastic dynamics in semiconductor lasers
  • Narrow-linewidth lasers
  • Noise in semiconductor lasers
  • Numerical methods for simulation of semiconductor lasers
  • Polarization dynamics in VCSELs
  • Single-photon sources and quantum light emitting devices
  • Spatial and temporal localized structures of light
  • Superradiance
  • Synchronization of laser arrays
    • Invited Speakers

      • Thorsten Ackemann (University of Strathclyde)
      • Ihar Babuskin (Univesity of Hannover)
      • Dmitri L. Boiko (CSEM Neuchâtel)
      • Marcel Clerc (Universidad de Chile)
      • Christopher Gies (University of Bremen)
      • Mariangela Gioannini (Politecnico di Torino)
      • Frédéric Grillot (Télécom Paris)
      • Svetlana Gurevich (University of Münster)
      • Guillaume Huyet (Université Côte d'Azur)
      • Julien Javaloyes (University of the Balearic Islands)
      • Deb Kane (Australian National University)
      • Markus Lindemann (Uni Bochum)
      • Kathy Lüdge (TU Illmenau)
      • Tushar Malica (CentraleSupélec, Metz)
      • Mathias Marconi (University of Nice Sophia Antipolis)
      • Kamel Merghem (CNRS, Telecom SudParis)
      • Christian Nölleke (Toptica Photonics, Munich)
      • Aleksandr Razumov (DTU Copenhagen)
      • Stephan Reitzenstein (TU Berlin)
      • Richard Schatz (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm)
      • Benedikt Schwarz (TU Wien)
      • Dmitry Skryabin (Uni Bath)
      • Kestutis Staliunas (ICREA/UPC, Terrassa)
      • Abdelmajid Taki (Universitè de Lille)
      • Angela Thränhardt (TU Chemnitz)
      • Mustapha Tlidi (Université Libre de Bruxelles)
      • Sergei Turitsyn (Aston University)
      • Martin Virte (Vrije Universiteit Brussels)
      • Shulin Wohlfeil (Ferdinand-Braun Institute Berlin)
      • Serhiy Yanchuk (Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research)
      • Yi Yu (DTU Copenhagen)


      Each participant (speaker, poster presenter or conference attendant) is requested to register online.

      Registration deadline (early bird): June 2, 2023
      Registration deadline (normal fee): June 16, 2023

      The registration is now closed.

      Workshop Fee

      We will charge a reasonably small fee for participation in the workshop from all attendents (invited speakers, contributed speakers, poster presenters, attendants without contribution).

      After you received the confirmation of your registration, please remit the conference fee via bank transfer to the following account:

      • Account holder: Forschungsverbund Berlin e.V.
      • Credit institute and address: Commerzbank AG, Tempelhofer Damm 182, 12099 Berlin, Germany
      • Swift Code / BIC: COBADEFFXXX (note that "O" here denotes the letter in the alphabet)
      • IBAN: DE45 1004 0000 0520 4300 02
      • Purpose: NDSL 2023 - [YOUR LAST NAME] [YOUR FIRST NAME]
      • VAT number of the Forschungsverbund Berlin e.V.: DE 136785011

      Registration fee is 70 EUR (early bird) or 100 EUR (after June 2, 2023).

      Please note that the payment of 70 EUR must be received by June 2, 2023 if you want to pay the early-bird fee. Otherwise, the payment of 100 EUR must be received by June 16, 2023 if you want to participate in the workshop. Upon arrival at the registration desk, all participants receive a confirmation of payment, including VAT or other specifications.

      Participation in the workshop is free for MATH+ members.


      • The Weierstrass Institute for Applied Analysis and Stochastics (WIAS) is located in the central district Berlin-Mitte.
        The workshop will take place in the Erhard-Schmidt lecture room (ground floor).
      • Address: Mohrenstraße 39, D–10117 Berlin, Germany
      • Nearby subway stations are "Hausvogteiplatz" (line U2), "Museumsinsel" (line U5) and "Stadtmitte" (line U2 & U6).
        See www.bvg.de for more information about public transport in Berlin (routes/tickets).
      • The venue is wheel-chair accessible by appointment. Kindly inform us about any particular needs.
      • We can provide and sponsor child care during the workshop. Please do not hesitate to contact us.

      Poster Session

      There will be a poster session on Monday July 3 starting at 6:45 pm at the 4th floor of the WIAS building.

      Workshop Dinner

      The workshop dinner will take place on Tuesday July 4, 2023 at 6 pm at restaurant Maximilians. The restaurant is within walking distance from WIAS (address: Friedrichstraße 185–190, 10117 Berlin).

      Call for Abstracts

      We welcome contributed talks and posters for the workshop. Please submit your abstract (max. 300 words) for a contributed presentation on any of the topics listed above using the registration form.

      Abstract submission deadline: May 1, 2023
      Notification of acceptance: May 5, 2023

      Title and abstracts of contributions must be submitted using the registration form.

      Submission of abstracts for oral presentations and posters is already closed.


      Contact and Further Information

      Secretariat: Veronica Bove
      Mohrenstraße 39
      D–10117 Berlin

      Email: ndsl23@wias-berlin.de


      We gratefully acknowledge funding by the Weierstrass Insitute Berlin (WIAS) and the Berlin Mathematics Research Center MATH+.

      WIAS MATH+