NDSL 2021:
Nonlinear Dynamics in Semiconductor Lasers

June 16 – 18, 2021

General information

The workshop with take place online on the web-based video-calling platforms Gathertown and Zoom.

The program will include invited and contributed talks (on Zoom) as well as a virtual poster session (on Gathertown).

Participation is free of charge, but registration is required (see below).

  Download Gathertown Instructions


The program is available here.


  • Theoretical and experimental aspects of optoelectronic and photonic device dynamics
  • Modeling of the dynamics in semiconductor laser devices
  • Model reduction using dynamical systems theory
  • Bifurcation theory, analytical and numerical methods in optoelectronics
  • Numerical methods for simulation of edge-emitting broad area lasers and VCSELs
  • Coupled laser systems
  • Frequency-swept lasers
  • High-beta lasers
  • High-power tapered and broad-area lasers and amplifiers
  • Hybrid SOA-fiber lasers
  • Lasers with delayed feedback
  • Mode-locking in lasers
  • Narrow-linewidth lasers
  • Polarization dynamics in VCSELs
  • Quantum dot lasers
  • Ring and edge-emitting multisection lasers
  • Single-photon sources and quantum light emitting diodes
  • Spatial and temporal localized structures of light
  • Synchronization of laser arrays
    • Call for Abstracts

      We welcome contributed talks and posters for the workshop.
      Please submit your abstract (max. 300 words) for a contributed presentation on any of the topics listed above using the registration form.

      Deadline for abstract submission: May 14, 2021
      Notification of acceptance: May 28, 2021


      The registration is already closed.

      Confirmed Invited Speakers

      • Thorsten Ackemann (University of Strathclyde)
      • Eugene Avrutin (University of York)
      • Kurt Busch (Humboldt University of Berlin)
      • Marcel Clerc (Universidad de Chile, Santiago de Chile)
      • Weng W. Chow (Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque)
      • Lorenzo Columbo (Politecnico di Torino)
      • Gadi Eisenstein (Technion Haifa)
      • Massimo Giudici (University of Nice Sophia Antipolis)
      • Frédéric Grillot (Télécom Paris)
      • Svetlana Gurevich (University of Münster)
      • Guillaume Huyet (University of Côte d'Azur)
      • Frank Jahnke (University of Bremen)
      • Bryan Kelleher (University College Cork)
      • Deb Kane (Macquarie University Sydney)
      • Andreas Knorr (Technical University of Berlin)
      • Anatole Lupu (Université Paris-Saclay)
      • Julien Javaloyes (University of the Balearic Islands)
      • Kathy Lüdge (Technical University of Berlin)
      • Cristina Masoller (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya)
      • Jesper Mørk (Technical University of Denmark)
      • Volker Raab (Raab-Photonik GmbH)
      • Stephan Reitzenstein (Technical University of Berlin)
      • Stefan Rotter (Technical University of Vienna)
      • Nikolay N. Rosanov (Ioffe Institute, St. Petersburg)
      • Dmitry Skryabin (University of Bath)
      • Svetlana Slepneva (Cork Institute of Technology, Tyndall National Institute)
      • Kestutis Staliunas (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya)
      • Abdelmajid Taki (Universitè de Lille )
      • Mustapha Tlidi (Universitè libre de Bruxelles)
      • Vasile Tronciu (Technical University of Moldova)
      • Ute Troppenz (Heinrich Hertz Institute Berlin)
      • Guy Verschaffelt (Free University of Brussels-VUB)
      • Evgeny A. Viktorov (ITMO St. Petersburg)
      • Andreas Wicht (FBH Berlin)
      • Serhiy Yanchuk (Technical University of Berlin)
      • Alexey Yulin (ITMO St. Petersburg)
      • Anissa Zeghuzi (FBH Berlin)



      Secretariat: Laura Wartenberg, Veronica Bove
      Mohrenstraße 39
      D-10117 Berlin

      e-mail: ndsl2021@wias-berlin.de
      phone: +49-(0)30 20372 539
      fax: +49-(0)30 20372 318


      We gratefully acknowledge support by the Weierstrass Insitute Berlin (WIAS) and the Berlin Mathematics Research Center MATH+.

      WIAS MATH+